Skip to content

Yarn from Oaxaca

August 9, 2010
tags: , ,

A close-up

In March one of my good friends visited Oaxaca, Mexico. While she was there she visited what she refers to as the weaving village. I was very excited because I was told it was hand dyed as well as natural dyes to color the yarn! So that means plant, animal and mineral sources are used to get the color you want. Some materials that might be used are berries, flowers, bark, different types of moss, etc. The yarn she purchased for me was a dark purple color. There is a certain type of bug cochineal (I think, or maybe a type of beetle) which produces a magenta or lighter red color. They are then combined with purple dye that comes from sea snails. Now, the actual process might differ from person to person but for the most part the process is passed down from one generation to the next.

With flash to try and show the colors... not sure it worked that well though

I thought this was really cool. I am planning on making a bag with this but I have yet to decide what type I want. But I thought I would share the pictures of my wound yarn all ready to be knit!

From above

Hope you enjoyed the pictures and my international yarn. I know I will soon!

– S

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 1:30 am

    Thanks a ton for posting this, I observed it quite informative, and it answered most on the concerns I had.

Leave a Reply

