Skip to content

Beautiful Noro Silk Scarf

January 6, 2011

As mentioned in a previous post, I had to post pictures of the Noro scarf I was knitting my boyfriend for Christmas.  This scarf is based on the pattern from Jared Flood (see his blog) where he knits together two skeins of Noro Silk Garden to create a gorgeous piece. I adapted his version only by alternating the colors with one skein of Noro Silk and a navy blue skein from Cascade Yarns.

My boyfriend is not one for color. In fact, he continues to call many of my outfits outlandish (I’d call myself stylish, thank you! :-P). This Christmas I decided to break him out of his monochromatic shell with this scarf. He needs more color in his life and this scarf is a beautiful accessory. Adding in the navy blue skein was my consideration of his attitude toward color. I paired the Noro yarn with the blue in an attempt to keep the colors somewhat subdued.

As most knitters have said after completing this scarf, it is one of the most beautiful things I have ever knit. The colors are so lovely and the photos cannot do it justice. After it was wrapped up for Christmas day I kept thinking about the piece. I had a secret hope that the color would, in fact, be too much for him. He would be polite but in the end it would be mine, all mine! Has this happened to you? When you finish knitting a gift but love it so much it becomes difficult to part with? To my surprise he liked it and has already showed it off to coworkers. Success! And I already have plans to begin a second scarf, this one for myself.

-L

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 3:02 pm

    Love the colors.

Leave a Reply

