Skip to content

My first knitting event!

January 29, 2011

This past weekend was spent in NYC volunteering for the first Vogue Knitting Live event! A while back I saw an ad for VKL in a knitting magazine and thought, ‘It’s so close! And what a great opportunity to immerse myself further in the world of knitting.’ I have a friend who lives in Brooklyn so all that remained was to get the time off from work! Once all that was settled I was ready to go…. except for the snow! I had originally planned on a day of roaming around NYC (museums, LYS, food, etc) and instead it was spent on a bus stuck in traffic. At least I got to NYC in time for the volunteer orientation!

Friday I spent the day registering the many excited knitters who were taking classes. Occasionally, there was a famous designer/knitter sighting and I would do a double take, or sometimes smile and nod like I knew them. Such is the power of the VKL staff shirt and volunteer badge. One of the highlights on Friday night was the unveiling of the marketplace in all its glory…. so glorious that when it opened it took exactly 8 minutes before the last person in line got in.

Here’s a picture of the entrance to the marketplace, please forgive me for the blurry picture. Y’see as I was getting ready to take the picture, I realized Jared Flood was in my shot! Flabbergasted and star-struck I fumble the camera and took this sad photo. He is behind the volunteer. 😦

On Saturday I was scheduled at the beginner bar, a place where people could go and learn to knit. At first, I thought it was a bit odd. We were at an event specifically for knitters, surely that meant they could all knit. Boy, was I wrong! At one point I was teaching a little girl and a middle aged man! It was such an inspiring day where the teachers all shared different techniques with the class and each other, and our students walked away with their complimentary ball of Classic Elite Liberty wool and needles.

On Sunday I had my lecture “B is for Purl. A Brief History of Knitting Patterns.” taught by Franklin Habit. It combined two of my favorite things: knitting and history! After, I walked through the marketplace, grabbed way too much swag, and took my seat near the beginner bar (conveniently located near the runway for the knitwear fashion show)!

This whole weekend was so inspiring that I’ve created a new sock pattern for my Mom’s birthday. I am knitting with Sweet Georgia sock yarn which I have never knit with before. It is coming along quite nicely so stay tuned for pics!

My only complaint for this weekend was that I did not take nearly as many pictures as I should have. So I will leave you with my last picture but definitely a very exciting one… it is a giant knitted beluga whale!

– S

One Comment leave one →
  1. mtmom permalink
    February 4, 2011 8:08 pm

    “B is for Purl” — that (and the whole event) sure sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

