Skip to content

I Have a Gauge Problem

February 12, 2011

Knitting books, patterns, bloggers, and teachers will always encourage you to test your gauge.  And I have to say shamefully that I never follow this rule of thumb. I’m a particularly loose knitter, so I really should start partaking in this important first step. I know that I should, but in the end laziness wins.

 

Cute cowl, no gauge testing required!

For a while I only knit scarves, hats, cowls, and the occasional set of mittens. Over the past year, however, I have jumped into larger, skillful projects and created some cute vests, sweaters, and socks. Because my knitting style is loose, I find myself picking up smaller needles than the pattern suggests to compensate. This has, to a degree, worked out quite well for me. But in the back of my mind I can hear the voice of my knitting conscience, “You’re just getting lucky! Check your gauge!”

 

There is a reason why this problem has turned into a post. I’m preparing to embark on the largest project I’ve started to date. The Yggdrasil Afghan pattern will be my best friend’s wedding gift. I am super excited about this blanket and plan on knitting it in this beautiful shade of blue cotton yarn from KnitPicks (super on sale!) This time I really should test my gauge.

In the end I have concluded, knitters are not lazy people. I must be more diligent! Has anyone else had a gauge problem and how did you train yourself to consistently check your gauge? Perhaps I continue to skip this step because I haven’t felt the repercussions of my carelessness?

 

-L

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

