Skip to content

My revival of knitting inspired by vampires!

November 22, 2011

A while back, I was given this sweater because L thought that the yarn would be good to reclaim. I took apart the sweater and the yarn stayed in my stash for the whole summer while I tried to figure out what I was going to do with it. I thought maybe I might make a vest, but I wasn’t really liking the way that was turning out, so I took it apart.  Then I thought back to when a friend made me look through a book called Vampire Knits: Projects to Keep You Knitting from Twilight to Dawn by Genevieve Miller. I was skeptical when I first heard about it, but since I’ve been a fan of vampires for a very long time, I felt as though I needed to give it a shot. As I flipped through, I found myself loving many of the patterns featured in the book. As a rule, I try not to buy a book unless there is a pattern that I am looking to make right away, or there are more than three patterns that I can see myself making. This book was affordable and I found myself wanting to make several of the patterns that were in it, so the obvious next step was to get the book!

My first project from Vampire Knits was the Under the Cover of Midnight Hooded Cowl designed by Judie Turjoman. This pattern has been admired by many of  my friends- both knitters and non knitters alike. I found the versatility of the pattern appealing- you can use it to keep your neck warm, or pull it up higher to keep your head warm as well! The pattern itself was very easy to follow and enjoyable for me to knit. Knitting in the round on size US 9 needles meant that it was a quick knit and minimal amounts of finishing in the end. Minimal yes, though I can’t say that I have actually finished weaving in any of the ends even though I’m wearing it as I write this post! Once I finished the cowl I discovered that I had a lot of yarn leftover. This led me to my next project from the book.

The Bellissima Mittens! Perfect for the cold weather and super cute! I loved knitting these mittens. The horseshoe cable is easy and the mittens were finished in no time! I knit these on size US 7 needles, which was interesting because the pattern said I should use US 9 for the smallest size. Looking back, I should have checked my gauge but I sort of winged it because I figured mittens are smaller and I would be able to tell fairly quickly if they did not fit properly.

A couple days ago I found this picture on Franklin Habit’s blog The Panopticon and

thought it was hilarious and the perfect way to end this post.

– S

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

